Find me Best Hotel in Montenegro
About Montenegro
The Republic of Montenegro (meaning "black mountain", the name Montenegro comes from Venetian language) is a constituent republic in the Balkans, on the Adriatic Sea. It is a democratic, social, and ecological state. Recently got independence in the referendum. Congratulations!

Throughout a number of centuries Montenegro was a de facto independent principality ruled by a succession of dynasties and rulers. The country obtained de jure international recognition of its independence, following the Eastern Crisis (1875-1878), at the Congress of Berlin. On 28 August 1910, Montenegro's ruler Prince Nikola Petrovič Njegoš proclaimed himself King.

In 1918, Montenegro's Serb-approved legislature, sitting in Podgorica, voted for Montenegro to become part of Serbia. Montenegrins loyal to King Nicholas rebelled in 1919 and were suppressed by 1924 by the Serbian Army.

Between 1945 and 2003, Montenegro was a Republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia respectively.

Till the May 2006 used to be two constituent states of the state union of Serbia and Montenegro. In 2006, Montenegro gained independence in the referendum. So union with Serbia was terminated.

Internationally, it borders Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Albania.

The principal cities and towns of Montenegro are: the capital Podgorica (139,100 inhabitants), Nikšič (61,700), Pljevlja (18,800), and Bijelo Polje (17,100). The former royal capital and the seat of the throne is Cetinje.

Travel to City | Travel to Bratislava | Travel to Lisbon | Travel to Venezia
Travel to Belgium | Travel to Montenegro | Travel to Dalmatia | Travel to Provence | Travel to Andalusia | Travel to Netherlands